Category Archives: About

Adirondack High Peaks

The Adirondack High Peaks is the name given to 46 mountain peaks in the Adirondack Mountains of New YorkUSA that were originally believed to comprise all of the Adirondack peaks higher than 4,000 feet (1,219 m). However, later surveying showed that four of the peaks in the group are actually under this elevation, and one peak that should have been included was overlooked. Due to tradition, no mountains were removed from or added to the group as a result of the revised elevation estimates.

View from Algonquin Peak: (left to right) PitchoffCascadePorterBig Slide, Yard, PhelpsGiantLower WolfjawUpper WolfjawArmstrongGothicsSaddleback,BasinNippletop and DixHoughMarcyGraySkylight, and Colden (foreground)

All except four are located in central and northern Essex County, primarily south of Lake Placid and Keene Valley. The others are just to the west in Franklin County. All the summits are on land owned by New York State as part of its Forest Preserve. Thirty three are in a vast tract of nearly 300,000 acres (1,200 km2) known as the High Peaks Wilderness Complex, subdivided into eastern (twenty six peaks) and western (seven peaks) zones. Others are in the adjacent Giant and Dix wilderness areas. Whiteface, which has a downhill ski area and a toll road to its summit, andEsther are set slightly to the north, in Wilmington.

The Adirondack Forty-Sixers is a club open to all who have climbed, or intend to climb, all the peaks. Neither Mount Marcy nor Algonquin Peak, the two highest, require technical skills, butAlgonquin Peak is regarded as the more challenging climb. Twenty peaks have no official trail to the top, although rough informal routes, commonly referred to as “herd paths,” have developed over the years and no true bushwhacking is required on any of the peaks, although some are still quite primitive.

Atop the highest peaks, above the tree line, there is a total of 87 acres (35 ha) of extraordinarily fragile alpine ecosystem; the amount of this ecosystem is constantly changing due to variation in the climate from year to year.

The region contains many alpine lakes and meadows, wetlands, streams, and forests. Unfortunately, the high number of visitors is degrading the natural beauty of some of the more heavily travelled areas of the region, and it has been necessary in recent years to more strictly regulate access and use. The Eastern High Peaks Wilderness area is the most regulated area. Fires are not permitted; dogs must be leashed; overnight groups are limited to eight people and day groups to fifteen; and Bear Resistant Food Canisters are required from April through November.

The High Peaks


Mountain Height (ft / m)
Mount Marcy 5,344 / 1,629
Algonquin Peak 5,114 / 1,559
Mount Haystack 4,960 / 1,512
Mount Skylight 4,920 / 1,500
Whiteface Mountain 4,867 / 1,483
Dix Mountain 4,857 / 1,480
Gray Peak 4,840 / 1,475
Iroquois Peak 4,840 / 1,475
Basin Mountain 4,827 / 1,471
Gothics 4,736 / 1,444
Mount Colden 4,714 / 1,437
Giant Mountain 4,627 / 1,410
Nippletop 4,620 / 1,408
Santanoni Peak 4,607 / 1,404
Mount Redfield 4,606 / 1,404
Wright Peak 4,580 / 1,396
Saddleback Mountain 4,515 / 1,376
Panther Peak 4,442 / 1,354
Table Top Mountain 4,427 / 1,349
Rocky Peak Ridge 4,420 / 1,347
Macomb Mountain 4,405 / 1,343
Armstrong Mountain 4,400 / 1,341
Hough Peak 4,400 / 1,341
Seward Mountain 4,361 / 1,329
Mount Marshall 4,360 / 1,329
Allen Mountain 4,340 / 1,323
Big Slide Mountain 4,240 / 1,292
Esther Mountain 4,240 / 1,292
Upper Wolfjaw Mountain 4,185 / 1,276
Lower Wolfjaw Mountain 4,175 / 1,273
Street Mountain 4,166 / 1,270
Phelps Mountain 4,161 / 1,268
Mount Donaldson 4,140 / 1,262
Seymour Mountain 4,120 / 1,256
Sawteeth 4,100 / 1,250
Cascade Mountain 4,098 / 1,249
South Dix 4,060 / 1,237
Porter Mountain 4,059 / 1,237
Mount Colvin 4,057 / 1,236
Mount Emmons 4,040 / 1,231
Dial Mountain 4,020 / 1,225
East Dix 4,012 / 1,223
Blake Peak 3,960 / 1,207
Cliff Mountain 3,960 / 1,207
Nye Mountain 3,895 / 1,187
Couchsachraga Peak 3,820 / 1,164

The Adirondacks

The Adirondack Mountains are an unusual geological formation located in the northeastern lobe of Upstate New York in the United States. The mountains rise in Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Lewis, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Warren, and Washington counties.

ADKMtnsUnlike other mountain ranges that run along fault lines, the Adirondack mountains resemble a dome. They were formed by an uplift deep under the Earth’s crust, about a billion years ago. They are part of the Laurentian Mountains of Quebec, Canada.[1] They are bordered on the east byLake Champlain and Lake George, which separate them from the Green Mountains in Vermont. They are bordered to the south by the Mohawk Valley, and to the west by the Tug Hill Plateau, separated by the Black River. This region is south of the Saint Lawrence River.

The Adirondacks are located in New York, The Adirondacks do not form a connected range such as the Rocky Mountains of the Western United States. They are instead an eroded dome consisting of many peaks, either isolated or in groups, often with little apparent order. There are over one hundred summits, ranging from under 1,200 feet (366 m) to over 5,000 feet (1,524 m) in elevation; the highest peak, Mount Marcy, at 5,344 feet (1,629 m), is near the eastern part of the group.